Skip to the content

New members for Geospatial Commission


Mark Say Managing Editor

Get UKAuthority News


Four independent commissioners have been appointed to the Board of the Geospatial Commission.

Dame Kate Barker, Kru Desai, Edwina Dunn and Steve Unger have been appointed to join chair Sir Andrew Dilnot and deputy chair Nigel Clifford. 

They will be responsible for providing expert advice to the Government on geospatial data, including on strategic priorities and value for money, to inform the UK’s Geospatial Strategy.

The board, which works within the Cabinet Office, will meet formally up to nine times per year.

Barker has been in a number of roles including chief economics adviser to the Confederation of British Industry and a member of the National Infrastructure Commission. Desai has spent her career leading large and complex transformation programmes, with stints at Westminster City Council and KPMG.

Dunn is chief executive officer at data science consultancy Starcount and co-founder of dunnhumby, the company behind Tesco’s Clubcard and other loyalty programmes. Unger was until recently a board member of Ofcom and has a number of private sector roles.

Dilnot, said: “Their combined expertise and experience will be invaluable to the Commission’s goal to unlock the potential of geospatial data and improve the UK’s social, natural and economic environment.”

Thalia Baldwin was recently appointed to take over from William Priest as the director of the commission from next month.

Image from GOV.UK, Open Government Licence v3.0

Register For Alerts

Keep informed - Get the latest news about the use of technology, digital & data for the public good in your inbox from UKAuthority.