Skip to the content

Government signs up to Digital Nations statement


Mark Say Managing Editor

Get UKAuthority News


The UK Government has highlighted plans to continue working with nine other nations on developing digital transformation in public services.

It has signed up to a joint statement by the members of the Digital Nations group – consisting of Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Israel, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, Republic of Korea and Uruguay – to work on issues including artificial intelligence, big data and digital identity.

The move was announced by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport following the latest virtual meeting of the group.

The statement affirms the members’ intention of working in a number of areas, including sustainable innovation, inclusivity, values to build public trust, AI, data, digital identity and sustainable government IT.

Minister for Tech and Digital Economy Chris Philp said: “The last 18 months have proven that digital transformation is no longer a ‘nice to have’, but an essential tool with the potential to improve lives by building more efficient and innovative public services.

“The UK is committed to harnessing the latest technology to deliver more on people’s priorities and level up the country, so it was a privilege to host this year’s Digital Nations summit to share insights with member countries and learn from their experience.”

Image from iStock, Tippapatt

Register For Alerts

Keep informed - Get the latest news about the use of technology, digital & data for the public good in your inbox from UKAuthority.